Avis T. Drung, June 29, 1928 - September 4, 2019

Avis T. Drung
Send Condolence Play Memorial Video

Avis T. Drung, 91, of Eau Claire, WI passed away September 4, 2019 at Azura Memory Care surrounded by her family.

Avis was born on June 29, 1928 in Osseo WI to Adolf and Thelma Baglien.  She married Harold Drung on July 3, 1948.  They had four children Steve, Kayleen, David and Jeffrey .

Avis worked for Wisconsin Telephone Company for 30 years.  She loved polka dancing, crocheting , baking and cooking.  Loved planting flowers and helping out at church.

Avis is survived by her children son Steven, daughter Kayleen (Kris) Kruckman, son David (Debbie) Drung, son Jeffrey (Roxie) Drung, sister Janice Heitkamp, sister Sonia (Dave)Becker, and sister Ima (Earl) Pasch.  She is also survived by eight grandchildren and 17 great grandchildren.  She is preceded in death by her husband Harold, Her parents and brother Roger.

A special thank you to the staff at Azura Memory Care for taking such wonderful care of Mom, and thank you to St. Joseph’s Hospice for your kindness and concern for Mom.

In lieu of flowers, memorials may be given in Avis name to Trinity Lutheran Church.  

Memorial service will be held at 11:00 am on Thursday, September 12, 2019 at Trinity Lutheran Church, 1314 E Lexington Blvd., with Pastor Patrick Patterson officiating.  Visitation will take place at the church Thursday morning from 9:00 am until the time of service.  Inurnment will take place on Thursday at 1:45 pm at Rest Haven Cemetery in the Town of Washington.

Friends and family may offer condolences online at www.hulkefamilyfh.com.

Hulke Family Funeral Home & Cremation Services, 3209 Rudolph Road, Eau Claire, WI 54701 is assisting the family with the arrangements.

Condolences

  1. Diane Lisowski September 20, 2019

    Have lost track of your parents over the years, they used to come to dances around here with the Nordbys and Aries we had many wonderful times and fond memories but health kept them away. Was to a dance at Menomonie on Wednesday and heard Avis had passed. You have my Sincerest Sympathy What a Beautiful and Special Lady She was I am so Happy to Have made her acquaintance

  2. Jan Brown September 9, 2019

    I worked with Avis at the Telephone Company back in the 70's. She was such a sweet and kind lady. The one thing I always remember about her is when we worked in the Chamber of Commerce building, back when everyone could smoke at our desks. Avis, being a non-smoker, would tell us that Harold would ask her if she had stopped at a Bar after work, because she smelled like smoke!! I felt sorry for her having to work in those conditions.
    I am going to be out of town on Thursday and won't be able to attend Avis' service,but please accept my condolences for your loss.

    Jan (West) Brown

  3. Terry & Kathie Drung September 8, 2019

    So very sorry to hear of Aunt Avis’s passing. She was such a sweet lady. Always made us feel right at home. Such a great hostess. We will see her on the other side ... Rest In Peace Aunt Avis
    Love,
    Terry & Kathie

  4. Stephanie Zuehlke September 8, 2019

    I just learned that Avis passed this last week. I’m so sorry to know that we've all lost such a beautiful person. She'd been a fixture in my life for all but my first 14 years. I know it’s not much but I hope you find some comfort in knowing the wonderful things that she did for so many people have made a lasting impression on them.

    I can honestly say that when I think of a gracious lady, Avis comes to mind immediately. I can’t think of a time that I didn’t want to be around her and how much it meant to me when I was. 

    Avis once told me there was some level of goodness in everyone but really, I think most of the goodness was in her. Over the years we spoke less and less for obvious reasons but she was rarely out of my thoughts. My recipe box is filled with some of her favorite recipes and everytime I come across one I remember exactly what we were doing when she wrote it down and then have to kind of giggle at some of our silliest conversations that that recipe brings to mind.

    Over the years I've spent time retelling Kendall the stories Avis shared with me of her growing up on the farm, her folks and siblings, lefse, Norwegian lunches, school, drinking coffee out of saucers, how her water picture would freeze-over in her bedroom overnight, how they'd all warm up at the stove downstairs in the morning, when her kids were born, and when she and Harold first met.  Kendall can attest to the fact that I've never tired of reminding her that Avis had the most beautiful and accomplished handwriting I'd ever seen and that we should both do our best to be more like her.

     Wow! Such a generous lady. She would say something so kind about something so small – it got me every time. I loved how she would enjoy and appreciate small gestures and in doing so, make you feel ten feet tall. 

    I'm so very glad that Kendall was able to spend so much time with her and sometimes share her with Blake and then share those experiences with me. 

    I’m so sad for you all and will miss Avis tremendously.

    I’m sorry that I won’t be able to attend the Service but please know that you are all in my prayers.

    Stephanie Zuehlke

  5. Vicki and Roger Market September 8, 2019

    Kay and family
    Our deepest sympathy goes out to you and your family in this very difficult time. No one can replace a mother, but God can comfort a grieving heart. Continue to carry her memory in that special place in your heart. She was a wonderful lady and will be greatly missed by all who knew her..
    Much love

  6. Mary Ann Wirsbinski September 8, 2019

    My deepest sympathy to your family. I saw the post in the Leader Telegram. See you next Sunday.